Annual Dinner a resounding success

Published by on

The Solstice was buzzing until the early hours of the morning as so many members and their partners, parents and siblings came together for a wonderful night of celebration – City of Peterborough HC clearly knows how to throw a party!

MC’d by the inimitable Andy Cave, there were a whole host of winners from every one of the club’s 13 teams, with the ladies 4th XI also carrying off the new “Team of the Year” award – which led to Busby leading the celebrations on the stage which was an experience in itself!

The club gave Peter Lambert a standing ovation when he came to award two of the trophies, and hope his recovery continues.

Life membership was awarded to Mick Ward for the unique achievement of 50 consecutive seasons of playing for the Club – probably something we will not the see the likes of again.

Allan Riddick was recognised as Club Umpire of the Year for his ongoing commitment to umpiring every week.

Neil Evans took the Ted Belton Trophy for Men’s Senior Player of the year, and Nikki Harris the Ladies’ equivalent.

The 3 prestigious junior trophies went to Chris Porter for Young Player, Scott Howard for Junior Men’s Player, and Georgia Harrison for Junior Ladies Player.

Clubman of the Year went to retiring 1st XI manager, Jon Short.

Top goalscorers trophies were won by Wayne Humphreys and Emily Waddell (the latter with a remarkable 31 goals!)

A whole host of players won their team Player’s Player, Captain’s choice or  Manager’s Player of the Season and a full list of winners will be published here soon.

13 lucky members also came away with a pair of tickets to the Olympic hockey event.

The club however also rememeber those less fortunate than themselves and raised over £150 for Ed Walker’s charitly to help local homeless people.

Everyone voted the evening a wonderful success, and thanks are due (in no particular order!) Colin Lake, Georgina Wilson, Andy Cave. Simon Roberts, Amanda Ayres, Sue MacNaughton, Tim Davis, John Anderson, Mick Daykin and Jane Wilson for both organising and making sure the whole evening ran like clockwork.

We will be back next year !