Minis so close to double success at Beeston

Published by on

CoPHC sent an U14 boys and an U12 mixed team to Beeston yesterday (6th May) with the U14s defending the trophy they lifted for the first time last year.  They won all their group games without conceding a goal beating Rutland 4-0, Wakfield 2-0 Beeston Swarm 7-0 and Leicester A 5-0 with goals from Nicky Reddy, Brendan Andrews, Archie Waddell and Daniel Mees. The Semi Final saw them play West Bridgford Monarchs and again they came out on top 5-0 with goals from Reddy, Andrews and Kunal Patel.  

The final was against Beeston Bees and for the first time the team started slowly compared to the other games and a great reverse stick finish saw Beeston take the lead. The game was end to end but two defensive mistakes (probably the only two during the whole tournemant for the boys) saw Beeston take advantage and move into a 3-0 lead. CoPHC attacked hard and earned a number of short corners with two being stopped on the line before an Andrews’ conversion made it 3-;1 continual pressure was put on the Beeston defence but they held out resulting in 2nd place this year for CoPHC.  A great effort from the team who drew great compliments from coaches and umpires alike for the way the hockey was played and the spirtit of fair play.

The U12s were up next in the afternoon with the challenge to go one better than the their older clubmates, and in a round robin tournament they duly delivered the goods – going through all their games undefeated. This was all the more remarkable as the team consisted of a number of 10 year olds. Special mention also for Georgie Richardson (clearly a chip off her father’s old block!) who was one of the few girls playing and gave as good as she got – often outplaying the lads in front of her. And also to Luke Barkworth who deputised in goal for Rutland as a favour to them as their keeper failed to show up.   

All in all another great advert for the younger end of the youth section of the Club – watch out for these guys in league teams over the next few years!

Thanks also to Gwyn Williams for organising and managing the teams.