CoP Veterans are National Champions!

Published by on

CITY of Peterborough’s successful season got even better when their veterans secured the club’s first national title.

Goals from Shayne Andrews and Wayne Humphreys secured a 2-1 victory over Worcester in the EHB Men’s Masters Over 40 Plate Final.

The men’s firsts and thirds, as well as the women’s firsts, clinched promotion this year and this national success has made a great season even better.

City, skippered by Aggi Milner, started brightly and Welsh veteran international Mike Yeoman almost created an opening with a fine dribble into the area but the breakthrough finally came on 20 minutes when Andrews netted from an acute angle.

A couple of short corners nearly produced a second goal but with Peter Hings and Paul Day solid at the back and Milner covering his usual many miles in midfield, City reached the break looking comfortable.

The second period began with a spell of pressure from Worcester but 10 minutes into the half City grabbed a second when a tremendous dribble and run down the left touchline from Martin Hill, helped by some good running off the ball by others, created the space for a square ball to Humphreys who expertly buried his shot into the far corner.

At 2-0 City seemed to have the game where they wanted it but within five minutes Worcester pulled one back and they then went close to an equaliser on a couple of occasions.

Some substitutions to replace tiring legs steadied City, who continued to look dangerous on the break but could not find the third goal to make the game safe. A mixture of good and desperate defending plus some vital saves and interventions from Welsh veteran international keeper Jon Short got City to the final whistle.

There were fine performances all round with Hill and Ian Martin doing a fine job down the left and James Knight producing a fine marking job at centre-back. Andrews did a great job up front, always drawing two defenders to mark him.

City of Peterborough: Jon Short, Peter Hings, Paul Day, Martin Hill, James Knight, Neil Collcott, Graham Finding, Aggi Milner, Mike Yeoman, Rob Fisher, Ian Martin, Shayne Andrews, Richard Herbage, Wayne Humphreys, Alastair Bradley and Ian Kennedy.